top of page

FAQs

Since we often receive similar questions, we have summarized and answered a few here.

If there are still open questions, we would be happy to answer them personally.

Who are we?

First Aid, First Handis an association that was founded by dedicated medical and law students to help people in need. The current events in Ukraine were the trigger for the foundation and that is the focus at the moment.  However, the organization is intended as a long-term institution that can provide help of any kind in humanitarian crises.

2

Who are we looking for?

We are looking for medically trained staff (doctors, nurses, paramedics, etc.) who will take care of the patients on our medically accompanied  passenger transports.

 

We also warmly welcome non-physicians, as we are firmly convinced that we can complement each other and thus achieve significantly more. Experiences from every field (transport, media, languages, organization, law, etc.) are of great help to us.

3

What is our equipment?

We accompany the transports both in rented buses and in our own ambulances, which we have equipped for emergencies. We also have a variety of medical supplies: rescue backpacks, material for wound care, injection utensils, respirators, medication, defibrillators, etc. We also have all the equipment for children, as they are our target group.

4

What are our projects?

As part of theESB(European Shelter Bridge) we organize the transport of patients from the war zone, especially children, babies and young people, to a temporary or permanent home in safety. For care in the event of an acute illness during the journey or if a protégé arrives at the border in a poor medical condition.

 

The conceptEHB(European Hospital Bridge) is used to bring patients who are in a critical condition, e.g. intubated ventilation, but who are released by their doctors in the war zone and are to be transferred to our partner hospitals in Germany and Austria, where they have a safe bed available is provided.

5

How do we organize our resources?

Fortunately, apart from the donations from the population, we are also supported by theSigmund Freud Private University Viennaand the organizationVienna Mission for Ukrainesupports.

 

We then request medical supplies from pharmacies, wholesalers, and hospitals to meet the needs of upcoming missions, and then pick them up in time so that everything is ready when we go.

6

What are our goals?

We want to rescue as many people as possible from the crisis zone and bring them to safety. We focus on the medical aspect, as there are still shortages in this regard among the aid organizations.

7

When is the next mission?

With events unfolding at the moment, it's hard to predict when the next mission will take place. We are flexible and well prepared for a wide variety of eventualities, which means that we are able to carry out short-term orders in a structured manner.

8th

What do we offer?

We offer an organized platform for all those who want to contribute their knowledge and skills during this difficult time. We network energetic people from a wide variety of areas and provide help where it is urgently needed. Our focus is on medically accompanied transports.

9

How do medically accompanied missions work?

When we get and accept an order, we organize the basic equipment, the escorts, the transport, the handover, etc.

 

We will then inform everyone who takes part in the mission of the departure location and time. We also inform those responsible for the condition of our passengers as early as possible so that the handover on site can go smoothly.

 

At the border point where the handover takes place, we receive our protégés, who are brought across the border by our partners in Ukraine, and place them in our buses, cars and ambulances - depending on their condition.

Depending on where they are housed, we go to Germany or Austria and bring the mission to a good end.

 

Since we don't want to subject the fugitives to an additional long journey, the missions often run through the night. On the outward journey you can still rest well, on the return journey you have to reckon with possible missions.

bottom of page

FAQs

Da uns oft ähnliche Fragen erreichen, haben wir hier ein paar zusammengefasst und beantwortet.

Sollten noch Punkte offen bleiben, freuen wir uns, diese auch persönlich zu beantworten.

Wer sind wir?

First Aid, First Hand ist ein Verein, der von engagierten Medizin- und JusstudentInnen ins Leben gerufen wurde, um Menschen in Not zu helfen. Auslöser für die Gründung waren die derzeitigen Ereignisse in der Ukraine und darauf liegt momentan auch der Fokus.  Die Organisation ist jedoch als langfristige Einrichtung gedacht, die in humanitären Krisen jedweder Art Hilfe leisten kann.

2

Wen suchen wir?

Wir suchen medizinisch ausgebildetes Personal (Ärzte und Ärztinnen, PflegerInnen, SanitäterInnen etc.), die bei unseren medizinisch begleiteten  Personentransporten die Versorgung der Patienten übernehmen.

 

Auch Nicht-Mediziner sind uns herzlich willkommen, da wir fest davon überzeugt sind, dass man sich gegenseitig ergänzen und so deutlich mehr bewirken kann. Erfahrungen aus jedem Bereich (Transport, Medien, Sprachen, Organisation, Recht usw.) sind uns eine große Hilfe.

3

Was ist unser Equipment?

Wir begleiten die Transporte sowohl in gemieteten Bussen als auch in eigenen Ambulanzen, die wir für Notfälle ausgerüstet haben. Des Weiteren verfügen wir über eine Vielzahl an medizinischen Versorgungsmaterial: Rettungsrucksäcke, Material zur Wundversorgung, Injektionsutensilien, Beatmungsgeräte, Medikamente, Defibrillatoren etc. Unsere volle Ausstattung liegt auch für Kinder vor, da diese unsere Zielgruppe sind.

4

Was sind unsere Projekte?

Im Rahmen der ESB (European Shelter Bridge) organisieren wir die Beförderung von PatientInnen aus dem Kriegsgebiet, v.a. von Kindern, Babys und Jugendlichen, in ein temporäres oder dauerhaftes Zuhause in Sicherheit. Für die Versorgung im Fall einer akuten Erkrankung während der Fahrt oder sollte ein Schützling in medizinisch schlechtem Zustand an der Grenze ankommen.

 

Das Konzept EHB (European Hospital Bridge) dient dazu, PatientInnen, die sich in kritischem Zustand befinden, bspw. intubiert beatmet werden, jedoch von ihren Ärzten im Kriegsgebiet freigegeben werden und verlegt werden sollen, in unsere Partnerkrankenhäuser in Deutschland und Österreich zu bringen, wo ihnen ein Krankenbett in Sicherheit zur Verfügung gestellt wird.

5

Wie organisieren wir unsere Ressourcen?

Glücklicherweise werden wir abgesehen von den Spendengeldern der Bevölkerung auch von der Sigmund Freud Privatuniversität Wien und der Organisation Vienna Mission for Ukraine unterstützt.

 

Wir fragen dann bei Apotheken, Großhändlern und Krankenhäusern um medizinische Güter an, um den Bedarf für die kommenden Missionen abzudecken und holen diese dann rechtzeitig ab, sodass alles bereit ist, wenn es losgeht.

6

Was sind unsere Ziele?

Wir möchten möglichst viele Menschen aus der Krisenzone retten und sie in Sicherheit bringen. Dabei steht bei uns der medizinische Aspekt im Fokus, da es in dieser Hinsicht noch Mangel unter den Hilfsorganisationen gibt.

7

Wann ist die nächste Mission?

Da sich die Ereignisse derzeit überschlagen, ist es schwer abzuschätzen, wann die nächste Mission stattfinden wird. Wir sind flexibel und gut auf verschiedenste Eventualitäten vorbereitet, wodurch es uns gut gelingt, auch kurzfristige Aufträge strukturiert auszuführen.

8

Was bieten wir?

Wir bieten eine organisierte Plattform für all jene, die ihr Wissen und Können in dieser schwierigen Zeit einbringen wollen. Wir vernetzen tatkräftige Menschen aus verschiedensten Bereichen und leisten Hilfe an den Stellen, wo sie dringend gebraucht wird. Unser Fokus liegt dabei auf medizinisch begleiteten Transporten.

9

Wie laufen medizinisch begleitete Missionen in etwa ab?

Wenn wir einen Auftrag bekommen und annehmen, organisieren wir die Grundausstattung, die Begleitpersonen, den Transport, die Übergabe usw.

 

Alle, die an der Mission teilnehmen, werden dann von uns über Abfahrtsort und -zeit informiert. So früh wie möglich teilen wir den dafür Zuständigen auch den Zustand unserer Passagiere mit, damit die Übergabe vor Ort reibungslos ablaufen kann.

 

Am Grenzort, wo die Übergabe stattfindet, nehmen wir unsere Schützlinge, die von unseren Partnern in der Ukraine über die Grenze gebracht werden, entgegen und bringen sie in unseren Bussen, Autos und Ambulanzen unter – je nach Zustand.

Abhängig davon, wo sie untergebracht werden, fahren wir nach Deutschland oder Österreich und bringen die Mission zu einem guten Ende.

 

Da wir den Flüchtenden keine zusätzlich lange Reise zumuten wollen, laufen die Missionen oft über die Nächte durch. Auf der Hinfahrt kann man sich noch gut ausruhen, auf der Rückreise muss mit möglichen Einsätzen gerechnet werden.